There are presently no open calls for submissions.



2019 Firecracker Award submissions close on November 29

The CLMP Firecracker Awards for Independently Published and Self-Published Literature seek to celebrate and promote great literary works from independent literary publishers and self-published authors.

We’re looking for language that smolders, crackles, or explodes on the page. We’re looking for voices we’ve never heard and will never forget. The Firecracker Awards spotlight books and literary magazines that make a sparkling contribution to our literary culture, and publishers and self-publishers striving to introduce important voices to readers far and wide.  

Prizes will be awarded in the following categories:
Creative Nonfiction
Magazine (General Excellence)
Magazine (Best Debut)

We believe in a fair and transparent judging process. All submissions are read by two first readers, who collaboratively narrow submissions to a longlist of 20 titles in each category. Judges—who also have access to all submitted manuscripts—will release a public list of 10 finalists in April 2019. The winning titles will be announced in June 2019.

Guidelines for Submission

All book submissions must have a publication date within the 2018 calendar year. Magazines should be uploaded as a single PDF containing every issue published within 2018. Online-only magazines may wish to upload a document containing links to issues published in 2018, along with a note and instructions (if needed). Graphics books are welcome, and should be submitted under the genre category into which they fall.

There is no limit to the number of manuscripts that may be submitted. Please submit each manuscript individually, selecting Additional Title Submission Fee for all manuscripts submitted after the first.

For more information about the Firecracker Awards, click HERE